The power of small things

Arundhati Roy, an Indian writer won the Booker prize for her book “the god of small things”. Whilst I have never been interested in the book, I have pondered on the title for decades.
  

God loves small things. God begins new things in a small way. The small is BIG.

Consider the way we were born. We began as an invisible zygote (fertilised egg) when our father’s sperm met our mother’s ovum. We were barely visible even to our mother initially, but then her bump grew, and grew, until one day we came out as tiny newborn babies.

What if we had come out as fully-grown adults! Thank God that’s not his way of doing things.

God loves to see things grow. 

Whether it’s seeds that over time mature and become mighty trees, or people who bit, by bit, change into Christ’s image. 

For years I was very impatient with who I was. I wanted to change and become like Jesus more quickly. I realise now that God was in no hurry! He is not impatient, waiting restlessly for the end product, but enjoying the journey of my salvation. So I have become more patient with myself.

I’ve also realised that HE is delighted with small, “mustard-seed” sized changes I make in my lifestyle, and the Holy Spirit can do much through little.

Let me give you an example. When I was still a teenager and a young Christian, I read a book that suggested that I set aside 20 minutes a day to pray. That didn’t seem like a lot to me.

So I found myself a convenient time, and a comfortable place to pray for a few minutes every day. 

My life changed forever.

I was unprepared for the tsunami of love God would show me in the place of prayer. I am forever addicted to God’s presence. No where else have I felt so at home, known and accepted just the way I am. 

So now, decades later, and after a few weeks of indulgent Christmas feasting, I need to get back in shape. I’ve heard from God. He doesn’t want me to join an expensive gym, but to commit to a bit of daily exercise at a convenient time, in a comfortable place. Pray for me – that I remain faithful.

What is that old habit you’d like to change? Perhaps you want to find a new one. 

Try and begin small, and persist. 

Do you want to study the bible daily? Try spending a few minutes everyday reading through in a systematic manner. Perhaps you would like more quality time with your spouse? Begin by making sure you have dinner together without the TV or mobile phone to distract you. 

BEGIN. Small

Matthew 13:31-32 “The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed, which a man took and sowed in his field; and this is smaller than all other seeds, but when it is full grown, it is larger than the garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and nest in its branches.” 

One thought on “The power of small things

Leave a comment