Why pray all night?

  

…while everyone was sleeping, his enemy came… Matthew 13:25

Do you attend an all-night prayer meeting? 
Many years ago, I lived in a village in India. My neighbours were Satan-worshippers. During the day they were like everybody else. They worked among us, did business with us, sent their children to school… At night they began their rituals.

If you were up at 2 am, you could hear them beating their drums, chanting and inviting spirits. The bible warns us that our battle is not against satanists, but against Satan.

Think about it…whether it’s drunken orgies (popularly known as “clubbing”), or sex parties (“pulling”) – they all take place in the night. The people who engage in these, seldom realise their spiritual significance – but the forces of darkness do.

I have a friend who habitually meets with God around 1-2 am. She has disciplined herself to do this, because she is cognisant that this is when darkness draws in – the enemy comes when everyone is sleeping
The bible tells us that weeping (intercession) endures for a night, (as an antecedent to) the joy (of salvation) when day breaks. 

It is the interceding church that is winning souls. The rest are sleeping.

I attend an all-night prayer teleconference once a month. I’m impressed by this technology which  connects me to friends from around the country (and sometimes abroad), while I remain within the comfort of my duvet.

There is one more reason why we should pray all night.  Jesus did

Leave a comment